Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Awards & Achievements

Joint Commission International (JCI)

Joint Commission International (JCI) accreditation is internationally recognised as a premier credential for hospitals and other medical institutions. It is an international mark and endorsement for quality patient care and safety, and organisation management. The JCI accreditation programme initiated in 1999 was designed to evaluate all the functions of acute care hospitals and medical centres.

SNEC was accredited in December 2009 and re-accredited in December 2012.

Excellence For Singapore Award

The Excellence for Singapore Award was set up by the Singapore Totalisator Board in 1996 to recognise and honour individuals or organisations that bring credit to Singapore by being among the best in their areas of activity in Asia or in the world. SNEC has been the award recipient since 2003.

ISO 9001:2008

ISO 9001 is the globally implemented standard for providing quality assurance and to enhance customer satisfaction in supplier - customer relationships. SNEC has held the award since 2005 and has also been accredited with ISO 9001:2008 (UKAS) since 2008.

Excellence Service Award

The Excellent Service Award (EXSA) is a national award managed by SPRING Singapore and nine industry lead associations. This award recognises individuals who have delivered outstanding service in their respective industries. It seeks to develop models for service staff to emulate, create service champions, and enhance professionalism in service delivery.

Organisations with EXSA staff are committed to achieving service excellence. They seek to deliver superior service through service champions in their organisations.
The award is conferred at four levels - Silver, Gold, Star and Superstar.
SNEC has held the national award since 2004.

Singapore Health Award

The Singapore HEALTH (Helping Employees Achieve Life-Time Health) Award is presented by the Health Promotion Board to give national recognition to organisations with commendable Workplace Health Promotion (WHP) programmes. It is an important way of honouring organisations that strive to help their employees lead healthy and vibrant lives.

SNEC has progressed from the Bronze Award in 2002 to Silver then to the Gold Award in 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2012.


Servi-CertTM is a service certification system adapted from France and introduced into Singapore by the SGS International Certification Services Singapore Pte Ltd. To be accredited with ServiCertTM is an endorsement that SNEC has in place a service delivery system of international standard. This means SNEC’s patients can look forward to service of the highest and most consistent quality. Patients can be assured that their needs and safety remain at the top of SNEC’s list of priorities as we continuously improve our facilities and premises.

SNEC has been certified since April 2007.

IJCAHPO–SNEC Regional Training and Certification Centre

At the regional and international level, SNEC has been approached to provide training to countries in the region through stakeholders like ASEAN Association of Eye Hospitals (AAEH), non-profit agencies and clinical institutions in developing countries. The Centre is also working towards developing itself as a regional examination centre for Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO) certification and an international training hub for the eye care workforce.

IJCAHPO provides international accreditation by setting academic standards for ophthalmic training programmes to enhance the quality and availability of ophthalmic patient care. IJCAHPO is the international division of the JCAHPO, which offers certification and continuing education opportunities to ophthalmic allied health personnel.

Inaugural Dutchcham Winsemius Award 2015

SNEC won the award for Collaborative Innovation at the inaugural Dutchcham Winsemius Awards in 2015. The Rotterdams Oogziekenhuis and SNEC have collaborated closely since the late nineties on health management.